SpaceX delays Monday launch of Falcon 9 rocket from KSC

SpaceX delays Monday launch of Falcon 9 rocket from KSC

At about 3:29 p.m., the company posted on Twitter that its launch of a Bulgarian satellite, which had been planned for Monday morning, was going to be pushed back to either Friday or Saturday.

The rocket will carry the next bunch of second-generation Iridium global communication satellites, after the first set flew aboard a different Falcon rocket at the start of the year.

The launch of Bulgaria’s first satellite has been delayed to no-earlier-than Friday, June 23 due to need by SpaceX to replace a fairing valve on the rocket.

“I’m excited my first launch opportunity is in partnership with SpaceX“, said Hough.

That note was quickly followed by another message: “Iridium targeted for 6/25-could be a weekend doubleheader”.

But plans for the East Coast launch hit a snag when the team had to stand down to fix a payload fairing valve, SpaceX founder Elon Musk said on Twitter.

BulgariaSat-1 will be taken into space from Cape Canaveral aboard a space-proven Falcon 9 rocket provided by SpaceX. The Iridium satellite launch, meanwhile, is now scheduled to lift off from Vandenberg’s Space Launch Complex 4 at 1:25 p.m. PDT (4:25 p.m. EDT/2025 GMT).

“This batch of satellites is at the launch site, mated to their dispenser, fueled, encapsulated in the fairing and patiently waiting for their big day”, Iridium CEO Matt Desch said.

Air Force weather forecasters predicted questionable conditions during the two-hour launch window that opened at 2:10 p.m., citing cloud and storm-related concerns.

The launch of “BulgariaSat-1″, a so-called geostationary satellite owned by BulgariaSat, a division of Bulsatcom, was delayed yet again. Musk reiterated that the second redundant valve was functioning perfectly, but tempered that fact with an abundance of caution.