Star Proteas assigned sides for T20 league

Star Proteas assigned sides for T20 league

However, JP Duminy says he has already been in discussions with the Cape Town Knight Riders’ bosses, and spoke of ideas to incorporate his foundation into their programme.

The highly-anticipated T20 tournament, South Africa’s version of the Indian Premier League or the KFC Big Bash League, also revealed the owners of each of the eight franchises. Delhi Daredevils owners GMR Group snapped up the Johannesburg franchise, while Shah Rukh Khan and the co-owners of Kolkata Knight Riders will have Cape Town, and their team will be called Cape Town Knight Riders.

After having acquired the Cape Town franchise, Kolkata Knight Riders’ CEO Venky Mysore said: “This initiative is part of our global plans, from Kolkata to Trinidad and now Cape Town“.

Channel 2 Chairman Ajay Sethi has been handed the ownership of team belonging from Port Elizabeth.

Eight marquee South African players have each been assigned, one to each team, nearest to where they are based.

The player draft is scheduled for 19 August, with nearly 400 players from 10 countries confirming their interest in playing in the tournament. The new team will be based here for the next 10 years and we need to show the new owners that we can deliver an exciting stadium experience.

Shah Rukh himself was not present at the launch in London, a location that meant the South Africa marquee players attached to each of the eight teams could attend, with the Proteas now on tour in England.

CSA president Chris Nenzani said to have received overwhelming interests for owning a franchise in the league but have shortlisted only the heavy hitters in a statement released by the board.

“We are certain that our final eight owners have the ideal combination of strategic insight and passion needed to make the first T20 Global League a complete success”, said Cricket South Africa president Chris Nenzani.

“The announcement of the team owners is a key milestone to successfully launch our T20 Global League, ” CSA Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat was also quoted as saying. We are thrilled by the worldwide mix of owners and the passion and excitement that was clearly demonstrated during the bidding process by them and the marquee players.

England’s Jason Roy and Eoin Morgan, West Indies’ Chris Gayle along with former cricketers Kevin Pietersen and Brendon McCullum have been named as marquee players for the tournament with the draft set to be conducted in August.